We Started from the Bottom, now We’re Here?!

first monthIt’s been 30 days since we challenged each other to find 12 dates before the end of 2013, so before we update our progress on the dating challenge tomorrow, take a look at where we started off just 30 days ago!?

Dating Challenge Questionnaire

November 1, 2013

Your longest relationship?

Teniese: My longest relationship was 5 years.

Devyn: Almost 6 years.

Have you ever been married/engaged to be married?

Teniese: None of the above (Blessing in disguise).

Devyn: Oh yah, I was married… Now I’m not.

When was the last time you’ve dated someone seriously?

Teniese: Four and a half years ago… WOW, that’s a long time.

Devyn: It’s been since 2007, so six, almost 7 gosh darn years.

How/why did that end?

Teniese: We were in two different places in our lives. I “thought” I wanted to start a family, marriage and new life together, and he just wasn’t ready. I made the mistake of always putting his feelings before mine and ultimately compromised my own happiness.

Devyn: After my divorce, I met someone who I fell head over heals in love with, and who was the exact opposite of my ex husband. I was in deep, it was the type of love that you read about in those nasty novels with a half naked sweaty shirtless guy on the cover (it was that good too). So deep in fact that I was blind to a lot of things, including his other “girlfriend” that he had on the side. I haven’t been the same since!

Why do you think that you haven’t been actively dating?

Teniese: Because I was wasting too much time involved with PAST relationships and did not have anyone in my life that actively peaked my interest.

Devyn: I gave up on finding a true love. I’ve taken on this challenge without really acknowledging the fact that I’m not sure that there is a Mr. Right out there for me.

Do you enjoy dating? Why/Not?

Teniese: HELL NO. It kind of gives me hives just thinking about it. I would love for things to flow naturally and it just feels right, but honestly I haven’t felt that in a while. I am so afraid that I won’t even recognize when I find it. I’m scared. I’m so scared of dating and starting all over, but it has to be done.

Devyn: I think dating could be super fun, if everyone was open and honest from the start. Everyone says it, but for me it’s really true, I hate the games. I don’t want to guess the thoughts and feelings of a grown man. I shouldn’t have to guess what a real man thinks and feels… right?… Or are guys into that kind of stuff now?

Your dream guy would have these 5 qualities:

Teniese: Family Oriented #1 – I love a man who respects his mother and other important female influences in his life. I want to have children in the future and want my future guy to want to raise a family as well.  Personality #2 – I joke a lot. Laugh a lot. And would love for someone who can dive right in with the sarcasm. At the end of the day looks fade, but smiles last a lifetime.  Height #3 – I want tall babies okay?  Caring heart #4 – I enjoy someone who is sincere, genuine, thoughtful and loving. I am a hopeless romantic at heart. I love to make my man feel special and enjoy having the same done for me. RESPECT #5 – no definition needed.

Devyn:  Patience #1 – I’m a lot to handle, literally and figuratively, and  I do not match well with someone who has a short fuse.  Positive #2 – He has to look on the bright side of life and see that the glass is always half full.  Hard Working/Goal Oriented #3 – He should be the “Man with the Plan” because I’m a “Lady with a to do List”.  I like to look at the big picture and plot a path that will get me to the promised land, he should like to do the same.  SillyBilly #4 – I laugh when someone farts during yoga, he should be able to laugh at the fact that I pee a little when I sneeze really hard. Spiritual #5 He should know his place on this earth is a gift and be willing to explore how to better serve Love and humankind.

Your biggest relationship “deal breaker”?

Teniese:  A man who smokes, hates kids or dogs, LIES.

Devyn: A man who does not stand behind his words.

One thought on “We Started from the Bottom, now We’re Here?!

  1. Dear Sirs,I log on to your blog named “We Started from the Bottom, now We’re Here?! | The Dread of Dating” regularly. Your humoristic style is witty, keep up the good work! And you can see our website about 藍光影片.

Leave a comment